15th JIMFF World Music Film Today (International Competition)


“World Music Film Today” introduces the latest films across all genres in which music plays a central role. The jury composed of four international members will select one film to receive the LOTTE Award, which is accompanied by a prize of 20 million KRW.

Mr. Jimmy
Director: Peter Michael Dowd
USA, Japan | 2019 | 114min | DCP | Color | Documentary | Rock | Asia Premiere

Jury Special Mention

A Punk Daydream
Director: Jimmy Hendrickx
Belgium, Indonesia | 2019 | 65min | DCP | Color | Documentary | Rock | Asia Premiere

World Music Film Today-International Competition Jury

President of the Jury

Stanley Kwan Director/Hong Kong

Rouge (1987), Stanley Kwan’s third film, won him a substantial international audience. After that, Actress (1991) won the Best Actress prize at the Berlin Film Festival for Maggie Cheung and Hold You Tight (1997) won both the Alfred Bauer prize for innovation and the Teddy Award for best lesbian/gay feature, again in Berlin. In 2001, he was awarded Best Director at the Golden Horse Film Festival for Lanyu (2001). Directing as well as producing, he is now one of the most prominent players within the Hong Kong film industry.

Nashen Moodley Director of Sydney Film Festival/Australia

Nashen Moodley is the Director of Sydney Film Festival, a role he has held since 2012. During his seven years at the helm, Sydney Film Festival has grown vastly. From 2001 to 2011 he worked as the manager and head programmer of the Durban International Film Festival, South Africa's longest-running film festival, and from 2005 to 2017 served as programming consultant for the Dubai International Film Festival. He has served on juries at the San Sebastian, Busan, Toronto, Rotterdam, Durban and Tokyo film festivals.

Danis Tanović Director/Belgium and Bosnia

Danis Tanović was born in the central Bosnian city of Zenica. His first movie project, No Man's Land which he wrote and directed was premiered at the Cannes Film Festival at 2001. No Man's Land went on to win the Award for Best Screenplay (Prix du scénario) at Cannes, Oscar for Best Foreign Film, and the César for the Best First Feature film. His most recent projects include HBO Europe's first original from the Adriatic region, [Success], a Croatian drama that Tanović directed and was released in 2018.

Beck Una Director of Una Labo Actorology, Film a journalist/Korea

Beck Una had worked as journalist for [Cine 21], a chief editor for [Magazine t] and [10 Asia], and a film journalist for Kyunghyang newspaper. Also, she hosted the Olleh TV program [Movie Star Social Club] and [Beck Una’s Actor Report]. Now Beck hosts KBS1 radio program [Beck Una’s Movie Theater, Jeong Yeoul’s Library]. She has served on many juries at South Korean film festivals such as Busan International Film Festival and Baeksang Arts Awards’ film division. Beck has written a film essay [Hi, New York: 408 days with films] (2006, published by Cine 21), studies of actors and actress [Our Time Korean Actors] (2004, Haenamu), [Faces of Actors and Actresses 24 hours] (2008, Korean Film Archive), [The Next Actor, Park Jung-min] (2019, Una Labo Actorology) and others.

Jecheon Asia Film Music Honorary Award 2019

From 2006 to 2016, Jecheon International Music Film Festival granted the Jecheon International Film Music Award to those who left significant footprints in Korea’s film music. Winners included 11 score composers such as late Shin Byun-ha, Choi Chang-kwon, Jeong Seong-jo as well as those active today including Jo Seong-woo, Lee Dong-jun and Han Jae-kwon. With an expanded pool of candidates, the first Jecheon Asian Film Music Honorary Award went to the Japanese legend Kawai Kenji, to be followed by the Chinese composer Tan Dun. This year, the Taiwanese musician Lim Giong wins the third Jecheon Asia Film Music Honorary Award.

Lim Giong

Lim Giong, born in Taiwan in 1964, is a multifaceted artist who has his career as a composer, songwriter, music producer, music supervisor, DJ and actor.

Lim opened his studio in 2000, and he has focused on creating scores for films and documentaries. He has collaborated with prominent di-rectors such as Hou Hsiao-hsien and Jia Zhang-ke.

He won Golden Horse Award in Best Original Film Score six times for the films , (1996), (2001), (2006), (2013), (2016) and (2018). In 2015 Lim was awarded Prix du Jury Cannes Soundtrack Award for the film The Assassin.